Exploring the Mind

PROBLEM STATEMENT

In this day and age, one of the main focuses of the youth are the amount of likes one gets on their instagram photo. Is it a different approach to art appreciation or is it another way for people to act like they are cultured. One example that caught my attention was the amount of people who stood in front of artworks in the recent Art Fair in order to take their #OOTDs. Some may debate on why this is an irk for many- including art majors, so this work is conducted to see what exactly is wrong with people taking photos in front of the artworks while focusing on themselves more than their background. (This will be seen from a personal point of view instead of a politically correct one)

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 9.26.18 AM.png

MEDIUM

The medium I decided on for this project is installation. I chose this because in my opinion, I can express myself better in a 3 dimensional work instead of doing it in painting form. I also chose this to challenge myself because I can draw anytime or paint whenever I can but with an installation I have to push myself to go the next level in terms of exciting, challenging, and wowing the audience. I want to be able to showcase the problem within the installation instead of just drawing an expression on a blank canvas.

Leave a comment